Uncategorized

Day 99: Taking the wheel

I’ve been in a tizzy these days at work. Hungry, driven, motivated mostly to prove something to myself.

This is a new feeling for me, folks. I’ve always been content with everything that I’ve been an done. Secure in the knowledge of myself – until now.

Until a few choice blows (with permanent consequences) that have landed upon my ego. You see, this marvelous season of Lent, the Lord has chosen to serve up steaming hot helpings of humble pie. I’ve realised that it’s been my pride fueling me to push myself at my work place, driven by some need to prove my competence.

The best part was that, I thought that this was what the Lord wanted, when he was calling me to ‘focus on work’ but the truth is, he was calling me to open my heart, to let go of my inhibitions and work faithfully.

The funny thing is all my ‘bright’ ideas and my ‘brilliant’ plans were all being foiled in some way or any other. That’s when I realised – God was calling me, to faithfulness, not to perfection. He wanted me not to take control of my life, but to let Him take the wheel.

Leave a comment